ADL Gazetteer Content Standard (version of 6/12/00)

    Relational Database Model (Qi Zheng)
    ADL Feature Type Thesaurus
    Alexandria Digital Library Homepage

In the following content standard description, an asterisk (*) indicates a required (mandatory) data element and the element name is in bold; otherwise, the data element is optional. When a required element is a part of a non-required compound element, the requirement applies only when that compound element is applicable. (R) indicates a repeatable data element; otherwise, the data element is not repeatable.

Labels for the data elements are enclosed in angle brackets < ....... >
Explanations of application are enclosed in square brackets [......... ]
Default values are enclosed in parentheses ( ....... )
Permitted values are enclosed in squiggly brackets { ........}

This standard permits contributions to one geographic feature description from multiple contributors. A particular gazetteer entry (i.e., one feature id and associated description) can be initially entered by one contributor and additional information can be added by others. All mandatory elements must be entered by the original contributor. For simplicity, all major sections of the Standard are structured with attribution elements for contributor and source, with the following exceptions. The Geographic Feature ID will be assigned to the entry by the system; Type of Geographic Feature and Other Classification Terms each have an identification of the schemes from which the terms are selected. A general Entry Note field is provided as a place to explain unusual circumstance.

 Major sections of the Standard:

    1. Geographic Feature ID
    2. Geographic Name
    3. Variant Geographic Name (R)
    4. Type of Geographic Feature (R)
    5. Other Classification Terms (R)
    6. Geographic Feature Code (R)
    7. Spatial Location (R)
    8. Street Address
    9. Related Feature (R)
    10. Description
    11. Geographic Feature Data (R)
    12. Link to Related Source of Information (R)
    13. Supplemental Note
    14. Metadata Information
 Beginning of ADL Gazetteer Content Standard
  1. Geographic Feature ID * < feature_id >
  2. Geographic Name *
    1. Name * < primary_name > [the primary name for feature in a particular gazetteer application]
    2. Name Source < name_source >
    3. Etymology < etymology >
    4. Language < language_used > (default is English)
    5. Pronunciation < pronunciation >
    6. Transliteration Scheme Used < trans_schema >
    7. Character Set (default is ASCII) < character_set >
    8. Current / Historical Note * (default is Current)

    9. < is_current > {boolean}
    10. Beginning Date < beginning_date >
    11. Ending Date < ending_date >
    12. Time Period Note < time_period_note >
    13. Source Mnemonic  < source_mnemonic >
    14. Entry Date < entry_date >
  3. Variant Geographic Name (R)
    1. Variant Name * < feature_name >
    2. Name Source < name_source >
    3. Etymology < etymology >
    4. Language < language_used > (default is English)
    5. Pronunciation < pronunciation >
    6. Transliteration Scheme Used < trans_schema >
    7. Character Set (default is ASCII) < character_set >
    8. Current / Historical Note * (default is Current) < is_current >{boolean}
    9. Beginning Date < beginning_date >
    10. Ending Date < ending_date >
    11. Time Period Note < time_period_note >
    12. Source Mnemonic  < source_mnemonic >
    13. Entry Date < entry_date >
  4. Type of Geographic Feature *
    1. Feature Type Schema * < schema_name> [e.g., ADL Feature Type Thesaurus]
    2. Feature Type * (R) < type >
  5. Other Classification Terms (R)
    1. Classification Schema < classification_name >
    2. Classification Term (R) < term >
  6. Geographic Feature Code (R)
    1. Feature Code Schema * < code_schema >
    2. Feature Code * < code >
    3. Source Mnemonic  < source_mnemonic >
    4. Entry Date < entry_date >
  7. Spatial Location *
    1. Planetary Body * < planet_body > (default of Earth)
    2. Spatial Representation * (R)
      1. Bounding Box Spatial Geometry Representation *

      2. < primary_bounding_box>
        1. West Bounding Coordinate * < west_bounding_coor >
        2. East Bounding Coordinate * <east_bounding_coor >
        3. South Bounding Coordinate * < south_bounding_coor >
        4. North Bounding Coordinate * < north_bounding_coor >
        5. Current / Historical Note * (default is Current)

        6. < is_current > {boolean}
        7. Beginning Date < beginning_date >
        8. Ending Date < ending_date >
        9. Time Period Note < time_period_note >
        10. Measurement Date, Beginning Date

        11. < measurement_begin_date>
        12. Measurement Date, Ending Date < measurement_end_date>
        13. Method of Measurement < measurement_method >
        14. Accuracy of Measurement < measurement_accuracy >
        15. Source Mnemonic  <source_mnemonic>
        16. Entry Date < entry_date >
      3. Detailed Spatial Geometry Representation (R) < g_points > [set of points; dependent on system capabilities and requirements; can represent set of non-contiguous areas]
        1. Detailed Spatial Geometry Representation * <geometry_type>{point, bounding box, linear, complex object}
        2. Number of Points * < num_points >
        3. Points Order * < points_order >
        4. (Longitude, Latitude) (R) * < long_lat_pairs >
        5. Current / Historical Note * (default is Current)

        6. < is_current > {boolean}
        7. Beginning Date < beginning_date >
        8. Ending Date < ending_date >
        9. Time Period Note < time_period_note >
        10. Measurement Date, Beginning Date

        11. < measurement_begin_date >
        12. Measurement Date, Ending Date < measurement _end_date >
        13. Method of Measurement < measurement_method >
        14. Accuracy of Measurement < measurement_accuracy >
        15. Source Mnemonic  < source_mnemonic >
        16. Entry Date < entry_date >
  8. Street Address (Physical Address)
    1. Address * < street_address >
    2. City * < city >
    3. State or Province * < state_province >
    4. Postal Code < postal_code >
    5. Country < country >
    6. Source Mnemonic  < source_mnemonic >
    7. Entry Date < entry_date >
  9. Related Feature (R)
    1. Type of Relationship * < relationship_type > {in-state-of, in-province-of, in-county-of, in-country-of, in-region-of, part-of, formerly-known-as}
    2. Geographic Name of Related Feature * < related_name >
    3. Related ADL Feature ID < related_feature_id >
    4. Current / Historical Note for Relationship *

    5. < is_current >
    6. Beginning Date of Relationship < begin_date_rel >
    7. Ending Date of Relationship < end_date_rel >
    8. Time Period Note < time_period_note >
    9. Source Mnemonic  < source_mnemonic >
    10. Entry Date < entry_date >
  10. Description
    1. Short Description * < short_description >
    2. Source Mnemonic  < source_mnemonic >
    3. Entry Date < entry_date >
  11. Geographic Feature Data (R)
    1. Type of Geographic Feature Data * < label_name >
    2. Geographic Feature Data Value* < data_value >
    3. Geographic Feature Data Value Unit of Measure *

    4. < measurement_unit >
    5. Explanatory Note < explantory_note >
    6. Beginning Date < beginning_date >
    7. Ending Date < ending_date >
    8. Time Period Note < time_period_note >
    9. Source Mnemonic  < source_mnemonic >
    10. Entry Date < entry_date >
  12. Link to Related Source of Information (R)
      1. Description of Linked Item * < link_description >
      2. URL * < link_url >
      3. Source Mnemonic  < source_mnemonic >
      4. Entry Date < entry_date >
  13. Supplemental Note
    1. Note * < note >
    2. Source Mnemonic  < source_mnemonic >
    3. Entry Date < entry_date >
  14. Metadata Information *
    1. Entry Note < entry_note>
    2. Entry Date *< entry_date >
    3. Modification Date * < mod_date >

Source Information * (R)
    1. Source Mnemonic * < source_mnemonic >
    2. Contributor Organization * < organization_name >
    3. Contributor Web Site
      1. Web Site Title *< web_site_title >
      2. URL *<web_site_url >
    4. Contact Person < contact_person >
    5. Email <email>
    6. Telephone Number <telephone>
    7. Contributor Address *
        1. Address * < street_address >
        2. City * < city >
        3. State or Province * < state_province >
        4. Postal Code * < postal_code >
        5. Country * < country >
    8. Source Information * (R)
      1. Author Statement < author >
      2. Title * < title >
      3. Edition < edition >
      4. Series Name < series_name >
      5. Series Issue < series_issue >
      6. Publisher * < publisher >
      7. Publication Date * < publication_date >
      8. Publication Date Note < pub_date_note >
      9. Pages < pages >
      10. Source Identifier < source_identifier > [e.g., ISBN]
      11. Source_URL < source_url >
End of the ADL Gazetteer Content Standard.